Captain’s Log- 25 July 2012- If I Had to Do it Over

There is not a lot of this kind of stuff in my life, but one thing I would do different if I had the chance to do it over again is to start out my flying career with the best headset I could find and protect my hearing.  There have been too many noisy airplanes and guns in my life, as far as my ears are concerned, and I am paying for it now.  Those things are fun, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything, but if I were doing it from scratch I would get a great headset, with noise canceling ANR for when I fly, and whenever shooting at the range I would always wear hearing protection.  I guess I have tendencies toward being cheap when it comes to buying the latest thing, so I waited a bit long on the headset.  But how do you put a price on your hearing?  I love music. I love knowing birds by their call and I love knowing all the animals by their sounds in the bush. Jackals, hyenas, the little squeak of rhino and of course lion and elephant.  Knowing these sounds may just keep me alive when in dangerous African game country if I hear them first.  At the very least, I may have the chance to see something incredibly unusual that the average person doesn’t get to see, if I hear it.  Just think what it costs for a few doctor visits nowadays, let alone hearing aids.  Protecting your ears is so much better!  You really don’t realize how great it is to hear until it becomes a challenge.
I recently got a new Lightspeed Zulu.2 noise canceling headset and I love it.  There is something wonderful about hitting a little button and having half the extraneous noise you are hearing, even with the headset on, just go away because of the ANR feature.  Noise can be fatiguing and distracting and who would not want to take that stress out of their life?  I think it even adds a level of safety to your flying when your hearing is crystal clear, you get every word the controller says and you are less stressed.  And it is comfortable.  I am totally sold on this headset.
Just take the advice of a seasoned pilot and get a great headset.  “Make the jump to Lightspeed.”  Now!  You won’t regret it.

Enjoying the sounds of silence in the Caravan with my Lightspeed Zulu.2 headset.  Ah, what a difference it makes.

This entry was posted in Pilot stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Captain’s Log- 25 July 2012- If I Had to Do it Over

  1. Hi Jon,

    This is a wonderful blog that entertains and inspires me greatly. I know how valuable the service and ministry you guys provide is and I am continually enthralled by your stories and experiences. My name is Brian Murphree, my parents Stephen and Lana Murphree said we went to church with you at Northside in Harare ( I was just a child back then). My uncle and aunt are Norman and Nyasha Monks who you have a wonderful story about with the elephant stuck in the mud in Mana Pools! Anyway I was wondering if I could pick your brain and seek some advice. I am currently training for my commercial pilot certificate in Pittsburgh, PA and have some questions about getting my A&P mechanics license and some questions about becoming a missionary pilot. I have left my email address in the form below and would really appreciate it – when you have time – if you could email me and let me know you’ve received this and then I will send you my questions.

    Sincerely

    Brian Murphree

  2. Journeym4n says:

    The best headset ever made, I owned a pair of Lightspeeds for 4 years and would never wear anything else.

    • jcadd says:

      Very cool, I couldn’t agree more. Are you a pilot? What do you do?
      Jon

      • Journeym4n says:

        Yup, started learning to fly just under 6 years ago, currently flying the A320 for Qatar Airways. When I started flying so many hours in single and multi engine piston aircraft this headset was the only way, in my eyes, to keep my hearing from going bad… passive headsets just don’t do the job and the Bose X isn’t as quiet.

        • jcadd says:

          Sounds like you have done some serious flying in 6 years to get that far. Well done. I am happy to be in the African bush. Not always about the money. I love the flying I do. Lots of adventures. You will have to tell us what it is like to fly the big stuff. Cheers for now,
          Jon

  3. I will keep this in mind! 😉

  4. John Rachor says:

    Hi John, long time no hear. I was at Oshkosh several days ago and visited with a wonderful young lady at the MAF display who told me about your blog. I told her I often wonder where you and your family are so she filled me in. I’m sorry to hear of the continued turmoil in the Congo so fly safe. I often think of our flight to Idaho and I have shared lessons learned with many others pilots such as LASSO. My flying consists mostly of SAR these days and I recently sold my helo and went back to Aviat Huskys (much lower operating cost). Susan and I spent several weeks in Botswana last year (at several Delta Camps) and agreed it was the best trip of our life. Keep in touch and please call if you get back to Medford.
    John Rachor
    P.S. Yes the Lightspeed Zulu 2s are the best

    • jcadd says:

      Hey John, My it has been a long time! I would love to hear all that you have been doing since we last saw you. Dianne told me she had met an old friend of mine at Oshkosh but couldn’t remember your name. So glad you wrote in. I will write you on email with more. Great to hear from you! Jon

  5. Margarita says:

    Hmmm, what a great meditation aid! Thanks!

  6. saymber says:

    My father-in-law discovered, via a hearing test, that he was experiencing a significant amount of his hearing because of road noise. He commutes a lot. I’m very sensitive to noise – have to wear earplugs to sleep!

  7. AirportsMadeSimple says:

    Reblogged this on AirportsMadeSimple.

  8. scanfie says:

    I just drove my 57 Chevy to Montana and back. That head set might be a good choice for me also. I miss you guys.

    • jcadd says:

      Hey Scott, That would have been a nice road trip. Wish I could have come. But, yes, the Mustang is the same. Surprisingly noisy. You can also put your itunes into the headset and have all that good traveling music without the noise. I also miss you my friend,Jon

Leave a Reply

