Captain’s Log-7 May 2013- Unexpected Pleasures

Today I was meant to be in the office.  Not my wonderful airplane office but the real, 4 walls, desk, computers, finances, business stuff.  I do it to be helpful but it is really not my thing.  But as I was out the door, I got a call from Emmanuel de Merode, the warden/Director of Virunga National Park where I had left Owen Fuller yesterday because of bad weather.  He was coming up to Butembo in the little parks Cessna 182 and could bring Owen with him but wondered if I could do a 50 hour inspection on his plane while he was in Bunia.  I love helping National Parks and told Emmanuel it would be a pleasure.  This saved us a trip back down to Rumangabo and I would be out of the office for the morning.  Nice!

The new paint scheme on the Virunga Parks plane.  No, it's not like a banana, Lu!

The new paint scheme on the Virunga Parks plane. No, it’s not “like a banana”, Lu!

It was great to spend some time with Emmanuel and also to have Owen back safe with his family.  The little adventures of life make it all worth while.  The parks plane was in good shape for another 50 hours and looked very sharp in its new paint colours.  My sister, Lu, thinks it looks like a big banana but the yellow is way too mustardy for that.

After lunch I took Emmanuel back out to the airport for the flight back.  And I went back to my other office to catch up on the paperwork of life.  Oh well, it can’t all go my way.

This entry was posted in Aircraft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Captain’s Log-7 May 2013- Unexpected Pleasures

  1. Rob Fynn says:

    Beauty – another reat insight into Just how it it is! Thank you Captain John – Can’t see getting to you to soon – any chances coming this way? Bestest to you both . Zambezi Rob

Leave a Reply

