Captain’s Log-21 July 2013-Striking Likeness

Portrait of me by Jonathan Blomberg, one of our pilots here in East Congo.  He is very talented and captured my striking physique almost perfectly if I do say so myself.  I can tell it is me by the necklace if nothing else. Thanks Jonathan.

Portrait of me by Jonathan B, one of our MAF pilots here in East Congo. He is very talented and captured my striking physique almost perfectly, if I do say so myself. I can tell it is me by the necklace if nothing else. Thanks Jonathan, you are quite an artist!

This entry was posted in Humor, Pilot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Captain’s Log-21 July 2013-Striking Likeness

  1. Hi Jon! This is Jostein from MAF Norway! We are constantly following your blog and share your stories with our donors here in Norway. You are a great representative for MAF and Gods kingdom. Ok, get to the point: I am interested in one of your pictures: https://captainsblogafrica.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/nebo-mungbere-064-crop.jpg?w=940&h=198&crop=1

    Do you have a larger version og this picture? If yes: can you email me: jostein(@)maf.no?

    Have a blessed day!

    Jostein

  2. John Dalrymple says:

    Just finished catching with you guys through the blog.I’m really missing you all. The arms Jonathan drew match what Cher sees in you Jon. – Great to see that you are making use of King Sierra – God is pleased as well.

    • Rand Robinson says:

      Jon, great site. I have a question Im hoping you can help me with–Im an American living in Kampala, Uganda. I am wondering if/how I can fly I guess out of Nairobi to Vilanculos, @600 kms north side of Maputo, Mozambique, from where I could get another plane or ski boat, I am told, to Bazaruto, the Benguerra, Magaruque and Bangue islands. Ive never flown bush planes really, and f you have ideas/suggestions as to where I could research this possibility, for this Xmas time, I’d be most appreciative! randrobinson@hotmail.com

  3. Carolyn says:

    Very good likeness, except for the smile is missing. 🙂

  4. LuAnne says:

    Oh, this made me laugh. I can tell you all the ways this is NOT you (like the massive arm muscles), but I do love that he got the necklace right. And the hairy arms. The beard needs a lot more grey. I didn’t know that Jonathan could draw.

    • Jon says:

      Hey Lu, I thought he captured the arms quite well. Jonathan is a brilliant artist. Ya never know what hidden talents people have. Hope you are enjoying Mongolia. Would love to visit. Jon

  5. scanfie says:

    I love it! I know your smile is behind the beard.

  6. Naveen says:

    There should be four stripes and not three. You carry a Leatherman, Captain?

Leave a Reply

