Captain’s Log- 2 January 2015-Congo Christmas Wet=White

Christmas morning with Cher my love and the animals.  Notice the newest member and Cher's new little baby genet.  More on that later.

Christmas morning with Cher, my love, and the animals. Notice the newest member and Cher’s baby;  little genet. More on that later.

Tradition! Like the old ‘Fiddler on the Roof” song we have many ideas of what makes things right. We like things to be a certain way at certain times. But it just can’t be all the time and you find ways to make it work for you.

little genet which we call Chui, which means leopard in Swahili.  Cher is totally smitten with this little baby that she has been bottle feeding for a month.  They are inseparable and Chui follows her everywhere.

A little large spotted genet,, (genetta tigrina), which we call Chui, which means leopard in Swahili. Cher is totally smitten with this little baby that she has been bottle feeding for a month. They are inseparable and Chui follows her everywhere.

Yesterday it poured rain all morning and it struck me that wet is Congo white as far as Christmas goes. It was lovely and even a bit cool so we made a fire to set the mood. The sound of rain on a tin roof is wonderful. Maybe a bit noisier than snow, but nice. A sense of peace prevailed.

Peace is relative here. When we were driving to our Christmas dinner with the guys in Bunia the other day, they pointed out where the thief had been caught and beaten by a mob and then fuel poured on him and lit off. He did not do well. It was not a hundred yards from our MAF office. I was shocked.   So they told me how 2 other thieves had been caught stealing in the market so they pounded nails into their heads. They did not survive either. There is such a frustration level with thieves in this season that most people I talked to were not too upset by this. “Instant justice” How is that for a tradition of the season? I am so glad that God has been more full of grace to me. That is the real point of Christmas isn’t it!

Cher prepares Christmas presents for people.  Love the googly eyes!  Makes me laugh.

As you can see, Cher was really excited about making Christmas presents for people. Love the googly eyes! Makes me laugh.

Gifts were fun. The carved mirror frames with African animals and leaves were a great success. And Cher, the bush pilots wife, did some great gifts as well. She gave me a jump stick with the start of the stories of our life together on it. The first 3 chapters. It is a wonderful thing. She is gifted at writing and I am very happy. It is amazing how creating an appropriate gift can mean so much. Another cool thing about gifts is maybe selfish in a way, but if you find the right gift, every time the receiver looks at it, they are reminded of you. I have a coffee cup that Dudley Rogers gave me years ago in Zimbabwe. It has the Tshabezi Safaris Logo on it, which reminds me of good times. But maybe more important, I pray for Dudley every morning when I drink from it. That is a cool gift! I also have a knife sheath that my friend Roger Clark made for me. I wear it all the time and remember him as often because I look at it. I must remember to give gifts like that. These are not expensive treasures. But I love them for what they do to my mind.

A very Happy New Year to you all.

This entry was posted in Cuture, Holiday, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Captain’s Log- 2 January 2015-Congo Christmas Wet=White

  1. John Kyle says:

    Thanks for your blogs. We worked at Nyankunde for some time and Maud is a personal friend. Do you have any update on her state and could youn give her our greetings etc. thanks. John & Val Kyle

    • Jon says:

      Hey John, Maud is doing quite well considering. We took her some supper last night but she couldn’t eat much. Stronger today. Had her coffee and milk this morning and a steady stream of visitors. She has lots of friends. things are looking good. She is praising God that she was not paralyzed or killed. It was inches from that. I will give her your greetings.

  2. chivepicker@earthlink.net says:

    Merry Christmas, Jon and Cher. from Deb Southworth

  3. Kathy love says:

    I loved all the Christmas stuff you guys put on your blog it’s so beautiful and you guys really had a lovely Christmas thank you for showing us how you celebrate the holidays.. Chere is an awesome writer but you’re not such a bad writer yourself Jon Love you guys and praying for you all the time stay safe

Leave a Reply

