Captain’s Log-October 23, 2015-Return To Burasi

The Green Hills of Africa.  Shockingly beautiful green.

The Green Hills of Africa. Shockingly beautiful green.

So, people are really liking the Burasi airstrip being opened and I have had 2 trips back there since we went in the first time.   Dave Petersen went with me the first of those and, after we dropped some people off in Boga, we flew down the valley and landed at Burasi. The Chief met us and after we checked the strip after recent rains, we were asked if we would like to go down to the river and to the Chiefs house. Of course we agreed. There is a “ferry” across to the Uganda side of the river and we checked out the situation. For only $100 they will ferry your Land Cruiser across the river…There is no paper work to do. No passport control. What could go wrong with this? They are talking about making it a legitimate border crossing in the future.

The small ferry to cross the river by vehicle.  A bit spooky but it works.

The small ferry to cross the river by vehicle. A bit spooky but it works.

We drove on to the Chief’s house, which looked great with a reed boma fence. As we stopped, Chief Albert jumped out of the car and went inside. When I arrived at the open door, he was sitting on his throne across the room with cow skins and leopard skins at his feet and a banner sign overhead that said, “Grand Chef Kituku II Albert Rutahaba Brhema Mitego” framed in tinsel.   A grand title for a grand man. He was happy for us to take pix and afterwards dinner was on the table. Chicken, goat, French fries, rice, cabbage, plantain, and tea. It was very nice and we were made to feel quite special and that we had been with royalty.

Chief Albert on his throne. Leopard skins a sign of royalty here in Congo.

Chief Albert on his throne. Leopard skins a sign of royalty here in Congo.

The Grand Chef Nituku II uhema Albert Rutahba Buhema Mitego

The Grand Chef Nituku II Albert Rutahaba Buhema Mitego

We flew the chief and a couple others out via Boga to Nyankunde with the arrangement that I would fly them back home on Saturday.

Beautiful waterfall on the escarpment abeam Burasi.

Beautiful waterfall on the escarpment abeam Burasi.

It rained all morning Saturday and it was after 1:00p.m. when we were finally loaded up and on our way. It is a short flight but we went past a beautiful waterfall and an area of erosion that looks like a mini Grand Canyon. That is kind of incongruous, mini/grand, but you get the idea. After the rain the sky was crystal clear and as I circled the strip to see what effect the rain had on the surface I saw at least 5 huge crocodiles slither back into the water from the river bank. One of them was 10 feet of visible croc with the whole tail under water, so probably 14 feet at least. These guys were all big enough to take a human and they say that cattle are taken all the time. It is great to be around wildlife again.
I took my fishing rod but there wasn’t a lot of time. But I will have to be switched on to keep from getting eaten. I have something to look forward to!

A lake down from the escarpment into the Albertine Rift.

A lake down from the escarpment into the Albertine Rift. The western branch of the great East African Rift valley.

This entry was posted in Adventure, Cuture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Captain’s Log-October 23, 2015-Return To Burasi

  1. Amen Dube says:

    Thank u Jon and trust Cher and yourself are well, living the dream:-)

  2. Kathy love says:

    Jon n cher; so glad you got your computer fixed Jon . I thought it was my phone , that I just wasn’t getting your news reports . you live from my point of view , A very exciting life lol. I’m an Outdoor lady , I fish and hunt but I will never understand the need for a man to fish in places where there are crocodiles! LOL you’re one crazy guy Jon. Anxiously awaiting more blogs . tell cher we’re praying for you guys in Eaglepoint Oregon . watch where you put your feet lol. going into Uganda’s a little scary! However , in this case I would’ve done the same thing ! what an exciting moment . I’m glad you took a lot of pictures that’s very neat. Love you guys be safe

  3. Joe Horn says:

    Your blog entries are fascinating. Our sense of wonder so many miles away takes inspiration from your sense of adventure. For the past three decades, I have lived my dream flying for a major US air line. It’s been a kick, but not always exactly where I planned. I admire your optimism among the chaos you must experience every day. On the 330 I flew Lagos and Accra. In a high altitude way, I glimpsed into your world of African aviation. Passengers occasionally visit our flight deck with wide eyes and excitement. They are looking over the fence and seeing the green grass. That’s just human nature. I am living my dream on this side of the fence, but perhaps one day, I will hop that fence and try my hand chasing wildlife from the runway! Keep those posts coming! Your mundane is our adventure.

  4. What a lovely photo. I think being a missionary pilot in Africa must be one of the coolest jobs on the planet! If I was young and had choices again….but then, I faint at the sight of blood so I guess that wouldn’t be a good thing at 5000 feet lol

    • Jon says:

      Hope you got all the pix and not just one. I hit a wrong button and it posed to everyone before I was finished. It is better now. Blessings on you,
      Jon

Leave a Reply

